Breiðholt is a district in Reykjavík the capital of Iceland

The district Breiðholt got its name from a farm that was once on the outskirts of Reykjavik. While the district was in development, it was divided into three neighbourhoods; Lower Breiðholt, Upper Breiðholt, and Seljahverfi. The district Breiðholt was originally a building development project developed under an agreement between the government and the labor movement to eliminate inadequate and hazardous housing.

Reykjavík districts

There are ten districts in Reykjavík the capital of Iceland. Each district has its characteristics mostly driven from the time the it was developed.  Although Reykjavík has been around for a long time, some would even claim that it has been around for centuries, most of the city was built and developed in the 20th century.


Reykjavík, with its 10 districts, is the capital of Iceland. The population of Reykjavík at the end of year 2016 is 122.500.  It is one of the most interesting places to visit if you are traveling in Iceland. Although labeled as a city it is more like a small town, measured by population or comparison with cities around the globe; or even measured by many other indicators for towns and cities.